News & Analysis at your fingertips.

We use a range of cookies to give you the best possible browsing experience. By continuing to use this website, you agree to our use of cookies.
You can learn more about our cookie policy here, or by following the link at the bottom of any page on our site. See our updated Privacy Policy here.

0

Notifications

Notifications below are based on filters which can be adjusted via Economic and Webinar Calendar pages.

Live Webinar

Live Webinar Events

0

Economic Calendar

Economic Calendar Events

0
Free Trading Guides
Subscribe
Please try again
More View more
Webinar: FX Week Ahead: UK & US CPI; Fed, BOE, ECB in Coming Days

Webinar: FX Week Ahead: UK & US CPI; Fed, BOE, ECB in Coming Days

Christopher Vecchio, CFA, Senior Strategist

Volatility should pick up in the coming days as several key themes, events, and data releases converge all at once. November CPI readings from the UK and the US will help shape policy expectations for the BOE and the Fed in different ways at the central banks' respective upcoming policy meetings.

Inconsistent price pressures have Fed policymakers on edge, leaving open the possibility that the FOMC's new forecasts for inflation are downgraded. In turn, traders will want to keep an eye on how the Fed's dot plot and glide path evolve; a downgrade could hit the US Dollar.

Elsewhere, on Thursday, the Bank of England will gather for the first time since their November rate hike meeting that saw overwhelmingly dovish forward guidance deployed.

Finally, the European Central Bank will be in focus as they get ready to taper their QE program starting in January 2018. Upgrades to their inflation and growth forecasts could pave the way for Euro strength at the end of the week.

Other topics covered include:

- Why is the narrowing US yield curve a problem for the US Dollar longer-term?

- How will upcoming policy meetings impact consolidating pairs like EUR/GBP and USD/CAD, or breakout candidates like GBP/USD, GBP/JPY, and EUR/JPY?

- Why are non-calendar items like the Brexit negotiations and progress over the US tax reform bill still of high importance?

Read more: FX Markets Have Busy Week with UK & US CPI, Plus BOE, ECB, & FOMC

Upcoming Webinars for Week of December 10 to 15, 2017

Tuesday at 7:00 EST/12:00 GMT: Bitcoin Trading Strategy and Environment

Wednesday at 6:00 EST/11:00 GMT: Mid-week Trading Q&A

Thursday at 7:30 EST/12:30 GMT: Live Event Coverage: ECB Rate Decision

See the full DailyFX Webinar Calendar for other upcoming strategy sessions

--- Written by Christopher Vecchio, CFA, Senior Currency Strategist

To contact Christopher Vecchio, e-mail cvecchio@dailyfx.com

Follow him on Twitter at @CVecchioFX

To be added to Christopher's e-mail distribution list, please fill out this form

View our long-term forecasts with the DailyFX Trading Guides.

DailyFX provides forex news and technical analysis on the trends that influence the global currency markets.

DISCLOSURES