News & Analysis at your fingertips.

We use a range of cookies to give you the best possible browsing experience. By continuing to use this website, you agree to our use of cookies.
You can learn more about our cookie policy here, or by following the link at the bottom of any page on our site.

0

Notifications

Notifications below are based on filters which can be adjusted via Economic and Webinar Calendar pages.

Live Webinar

Live Webinar Events

0

Economic Calendar

Economic Calendar Events

0
Free Trading Guides
Subscribe
Please try again
EUR/USD
Mixed
Oil - US Crude
Mixed
Wall Street
Mixed
Gold
Bullish
GBP/USD
Mixed
USD/JPY
Bearish
More View more
Real Time News
  • US Indices have pared some of their losses, with the S&P and Nasdaq trading back in the green. DOW -0.19% NDX +0.39% SPX +0.17% RUT -0.76% $DOW $QQQ $SPY $IWM
  • USD/MXN is in the midst of a bullish breakout from a short-term falling wedge pattern, but this plots in the midst of a much longer-term falling wedge pattern. Get your $USDMX market update from @JStanleyFX here: https://t.co/ETuevzf4vr https://t.co/ESqNfBnWzm
  • Italian PM Conte convenes cabinet for Tuesday to inform ministers he is resigning - Cabinet office $EUR Confirming earlier reports
  • Gains on $WTI Crude have stalled out this month below $54.00. The commodity is currently trading around $52.30 after falling to a two-week low late last week. $OIL $USO https://t.co/8Rq7RCrXZB
  • No notable reaction in BTPs given that resignation from Conte has been touted earlier in order to put together a new government. Also, a resignation does not necessarily mean that a snap election will be the next step as of yet.
  • The retail speculative crowd is throwing around serious weight with GameStop today, but its appetites have been showing through with the likes of Tesla and FAANG before that. The Broader $NDX to $SPX ratio seems to similarly exhibit the charge: https://t.co/43fWH81O8S
  • IG Client Sentiment Update: Our data shows the vast majority of traders in Ripple are long at 100.00%, while traders in GBP/JPY are at opposite extremes with 66.51%. See the summary chart below and full details and charts on DailyFX: https://www.dailyfx.com/sentiment https://t.co/oMldfyQvSy
  • AUD/USD still tracks the opening range for January amid the limited reaction to Australia’s Employment report. Get your $AUDUSD market update from @DavidJSong here:https://t.co/zrP58XUTln https://t.co/slnI0wp7N4
  • The focus will shift as to whether Conte will search for a new parliamentary majority As a reminder, PD Lawmakers noted that they would guarentee support for Conte as head of new government if he resigns $EUR https://t.co/8m5VDxfmMf
  • Italian PM Conte is expected to resign as early as Monday - Officials $EUR
Stock Market Holiday Calendar 2020/21

Stock Market Holiday Calendar 2020/21

Peter Hanks, Analyst

Stock market holidays can create unique trading conditions where unusual price action can occur due to lack of liquidity. Trading gaps,flash crashes and seasonal trends such as Black Friday are some of the most notable holiday-related events and phenomena which can make trading during these periods a tricky endeavor. With that in mind, check out the stock market holiday calendar for the various major equity markets across the globe.

US Stock Market Holidays

Products Impacted: S&P 500, Dow Jones, Nasdaq 100, Russell 2000, VIX

Holiday

2020

2021

New Year’s Day

Wednesday, January 1

Friday, January 1

Martin Luther King Jr Day

Monday, January 20

Monday, January 18

President’s Day

Monday, February 17

Monday, February 15

Good Friday

Friday, April 10

Friday, April 2

Memorial Day

Monday, May 25

Monday, May 31

Independence Day

Friday, July 3

Monday, July 5

Labor Day

Monday, September 7

Monday, September 6

Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 26*

Thursday, November 25*

Christmas

Friday, December 25*

Friday, December 24

*Each market will close early at 1:00 the day prior. National late trading sessions will close at 5pm the day prior.

United Kingdom Stock Market Holidays

Products Impacted: FTSE 100, FTSE 250

Holiday

2020

2021

New Year’s Day

Wednesday, January 1

Friday, January 1

Good Friday

Friday, April 10

Friday, April 2

Easter Monday

Monday, April 13

Monday, April 5

Early May Bank Holiday

Friday, May 8

Monday, May 3

Late May Bank Holiday

Monday, May 25

Monday, May 31

Summer Bank Holiday

Monday, August 31

Monday, August 30

Christmas Eve

Thursday, December 24*

Friday, December 24*

Christmas

Friday, December 25

Monday, December 27

Boxing Day

Monday, December 28

Tuesday, December 28

New Year’s Eve

Thursday, December 31*

Friday, December 31*

*Markets closing process commences from 12:30 GMT

German Stock Market Holidays

Products Impacted: DAX 30

Holiday

2020

2021

New Year’s Day

Wednesday, January 1

Friday, January 1

Good Friday

Friday, April 10

Friday, April 2

Easter Monday

Monday, April 13

Monday, April 5

Labour Day

Friday, May 1

Saturday, May 1

Whit Monday

Monday, June 1

Monday, May 24

Day of German Unity

Saturday, October 3

Sunday, October 3

Christmas Eve

Thursday, December 24

Friday, December 24

Christmas Day

Friday, December 25

Saturday, December 25

Boxing Day

Saturday, December 26

Sunday, December 26

New Year’s Eve

Thursday, December 31

Friday, December 31

French Stock Market Holidays

Products Impacted: CAC 40

Holiday

2020

2021

New Year’s Day

Wednesday, January 1

Friday, January 1

Good Friday

Friday, April 10

Friday, April 2

Easter Monday

Monday, April 13

Monday, April 5

Labor Day

Friday, May 1

Saturday, May 1

Christmas Eve

Thursday, December 24*

Friday, December 24*

Christmas Day

Friday, December 25

Saturday, December 25

Boxing Day

Saturday, December 26

Sunday, December 26

New Year’s Eve

Thursday, December 31*

Friday, December 31*

*Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve, trading on the Euronext Paris Cash Markets will be half day trading, with all instruments closing by 14:05 CET

Japanese Stock Market Holidays

Assets Impacted: Nikkei 225

Holiday

2020

2021

New Year’s Day

Wednesday, January 1

Friday, January 1

Market Holiday

Thursday, January 2

Saturday, January 2

Market Holiday

Friday, January 3

Sunday, January 3

Old Age Day

Monday, January 13

Monday, January 11

National Day

Tuesday, February 11

Thursday, February 11

Emperor’s Birthday

Monday, February 24

Tuesday, February 23

Vernal Equinox

Friday, March 20

Saturday, March 20

Showa Day

Wednesday, April 29

Thursday, April 29

Constitution Day

Sunday, May 3

Monday, May 3

Greenery Day

Monday, May 4

Tuesday, May 4

Children’s Day

Tuesday, May 5

Wednesday, May 5

Marine Day

Thursday, July 23

Monday, July 19

Mountain Day

Monday, August 10

Wednesday, August 11

Old Age Day

Monday, September 21

Monday, September 20

Autumnal Equinox

Tuesday, September 22

Thursday, September 23

Sports Day

Friday, July 24

Monday, October 11

Culture Day

Tuesday, November 3

Wednesday, November 3

Labor Thanksgiving

Monday, November 23

Tuesday, November 23

New Year’s Eve

Thursday, December 31

Friday, December 31

Australian Stock Market Holidays

Assets Impacted: ASX 200

Holiday

2020

2021

New Year’s Day

Wednesday, January 1

Friday, January 1

Australia Day

Monday, January 27

Tuesday, January 26

Good Friday

Friday, April 10

Friday, April 2

Easter Monday

Monday, April 13

Monday, April 5

Anzac Day

Saturday, April 25

Monday, April 26

Queen’s Birthday

Monday, June 8

Monday, June 14

Christmas Eve

Thursday, December 24*

Friday, December 24*

Christmas Day

Friday, December 25

Monday, December 27

Boxing Day

Monday, December 28

Tuesday, December 28

New Year’s Eve

Thursday, December 31*

Friday, December 31*

*Normal trading ceases at 14:10 (Sydney time)

Equities Forecast
Equities Forecast
Recommended by Peter Hanks
Get the latest market projections for equities today!
Get My Guide

Further reading on stock market trading

In addition to global stock market holidays, we have an in-depth guide to global stock market trading hours. to inform your trading decisions.

You might also be interested in:

DailyFX provides forex news and technical analysis on the trends that influence the global currency markets.

DISCLOSURES