Trade FOREX with FXCM

  • Award-Winning Platform
  • 24/7 Customer Support
  • Trade Directly on Charts
  • Free $50K Practice Account
Register


Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,103

    FXCM Marketscope Charts Overview

    How to Create a Chart

    The easiest way to create a new chart is the following:

    1) From the FX Trading Station, click Charts> Create Marketshot. You can also click on the Yellow Clock Icon to the right of the Chat Button.

    2) A Create Marketshot window will appear. Select the symbol, period, and interval.



    For a detailed explanation of the different fields, Click Here.

    3) Click OK to create a new chart and you will see a chart appear like the Marketscope Chart below:



    How to Change Symbols

    The symbols box located at the top-left of the Marketscope Chart window allows you to change the current symbol to a new symbol.

    Complete the following steps to change the symbol:

    1) Click the drop-down arrow for the symbols box at the top-left of the Marketscope Chart window. A drop-down menu will appear that displays all of the available symbols.



    2) Click the symbol you wish to view and the Marketscope Chart will update automatically.


    How to Change Time Period

    The time period is changed through the time period field located at the top-left of the Marketscope Chart window. Complete the following steps to change the time period:

    1) Click the drop-down arrow for the time period box. A drop-down menu will appear.



    2) Select the period you would like to view. If you would like a custom time period, type the first letter of the time period (m for minutes, h for hours and d for days), then the number of units for that period (ie; type m2 for a 2 minute chart).

    3) Click Enter if you typed your own custom time period and the Marketscope Chart will update automatically.

    How to Change a Chart’s Appearance

    Chart Mode allows you to change the chart appearance to meet your needs. Complete the following steps to change the chart mode:

    1) Right click inside the chart. In the pop-up menu, scroll down to Chart Mode and click on the chart mode you prefer.



    2) The Marketscope Chart will update automatically once you click on the chart mode you prefer.

    How to Trade from the Charts

    Trading from the Charts Video

    To place a trade directly from the chart you are viewing, complete the following steps:

    1) Right-click inside the chart. In the pop-up menu that appears, click on Create Market Order.



    2) The Create a Market Order Window will appear.



    3) Complete the available fields for the Create a Market Order Window and click OK.

    4) Once the trade is executed, the trade will display in the Summary Window, Open Positions Window and on a chart for that specific symbol.

    For additional details on how to view and place trades from the Marketscope Charts, Click Here.

    See how easy it is to trade from the Market Scope Charts!

    How to Customize your Charts

    The Marketscope Charts are completely customizable to meet your trading needs. Some of the most popular visual changes are available through the Option Menu. The steps to make visual changes are the following:

    1) From the Marketscope 2.0 Chart Window, click on File> Options.

    2) An Option Window will appear. The columns on the left-hand side provide the current options available and the right-hand column is where the necessary changes are made.



    3) To save changes, click Apply. The Options menu provides a Restore to Defaults button to restore the Marketscope charts to their original settings if changes are made.

    To review all of the ways to customize your Marketscope Charts, Click Here or view our Market Scope User Guide.
    Last edited by FXCM Online Support; 07-13-2010 at 05:31 PM.
    Thank you for being a part of our trading community!

    Want to discuss how our resources can help you reach your trading goals? Add your post to join the conversation or feel free to contact us directly at help@fxcm.com!

    We look forward to hearing from you!

    FXCM Online Support

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,103
    How to Add Technical Indicators

    Complete the steps below to add a technical indicator:

    1) From the Marketscope 2.0 Chart Window, click Insert> Add Indicator. Additionally, you can right click inside the chart and click on Add Indicator or click on the Add Indicator button. An Add Indicator Window will appear.



    2) From the Add Indicator Window, select the indicator from the list of indicators and click OK. An Indicator Properties Window will appear.

    3) From the Indicator Properties Window, select the Parameters, Data Source and Location using the tabs at the top of the window. Click OK.



    4) The Technical Indicator will display on the Marketscope Chart based on the settings chosen.



    How to Remove Technical Indicators

    Complete the steps below to remove a technical indicator:

    1) Right-click directly on the technical indicator inside the Chart window. A pop-up menu will appear that provides the option to change or remove the Technical Indicator.



    2) Click Remove Indicator ‘Name’, where Name is the name of the indicator you wish to remove.

    3) The Indicator will be removed from the Marketscope Chart.

    For a detailed explanation of how to add or customize technical indicators, Click Here.[/size]
    Last edited by FXCM Online Support; 07-13-2010 at 05:33 PM.
    Thank you for being a part of our trading community!

    Want to discuss how our resources can help you reach your trading goals? Add your post to join the conversation or feel free to contact us directly at help@fxcm.com!

    We look forward to hearing from you!

    FXCM Online Support

  3. #3
    Wacky Noodle is offline Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5
    I was wondering if there was an option or setting that lets me open my saved layout exactly how I saved it.

    For example, I would like to be able to open up a saved layout with all my charts zoomed out. Every time I open my lay out it is zoomed in. I like to view the overall picture of each time frame individually first thing. Its such a time sucker to open my layout and have to spend time sitting there clicking the zoom out button for each chart in my lay out. Or maybe there is an option that would allow me to quickly zoom out.

    Thanks in advance for any help and advice.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,103
    Quote Originally Posted by Wacky Noodle View Post
    I was wondering if there was an option or setting that lets me open my saved layout exactly how I saved it.

    For example, I would like to be able to open up a saved layout with all my charts zoomed out. Every time I open my lay out it is zoomed in. I like to view the overall picture of each time frame individually first thing. Its such a time sucker to open my layout and have to spend time sitting there clicking the zoom out button for each chart in my lay out. Or maybe there is an option that would allow me to quickly zoom out.

    Thanks in advance for any help and advice.
    Hello Wacky Noodle ,

    Welcome to the FXCM Online Support forum. You can find information on formating and saving your trading station layout at the link found here.

    Customize Your Platform
    Thank you for being a part of our trading community!

    Want to discuss how our resources can help you reach your trading goals? Add your post to join the conversation or feel free to contact us directly at help@fxcm.com!

    We look forward to hearing from you!

    FXCM Online Support

  5. #5
    Wacky Noodle is offline Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by FXCM Online Support View Post
    Hello Wacky Noodle ,

    Welcome to the FXCM Online Support forum. You can find information on formating and saving your trading station layout at the link found here.

    Customize Your Platform

    Thanks for your prompt response. Sorry it took so long for me to respond. I am well aware of the options settings but thanks for pointing them out again. In the options there is nothing that says weather or not I can open a saved layout just as I had saved it. Yes when I open it up everything I saved is there but its zoomed in to some kind of default view. I had figured that if I saved it while it was zoomed out it would open up in the zoomed out view I had saved it in, but that is not the case. I can only assume that the market scope charts do not have that function since I cant find it under the options.... unless I am just totally overlooking it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,103
    Quote Originally Posted by Wacky Noodle View Post
    Thanks for your prompt response. Sorry it took so long for me to respond. I am well aware of the options settings but thanks for pointing them out again. In the options there is nothing that says weather or not I can open a saved layout just as I had saved it. Yes when I open it up everything I saved is there but its zoomed in to some kind of default view. I had figured that if I saved it while it was zoomed out it would open up in the zoomed out view I had saved it in, but that is not the case. I can only assume that the market scope charts do not have that function since I cant find it under the options.... unless I am just totally overlooking it.
    Hi Wacky Noodle,

    Thank you for responding.

    The "same zoom" feature is something that we are very close to releasing, but is not available yet. Once it is we will have details on how to best use it.

    Be sure to keep an eye on new updates by going to our announcements page here. You will find information on new updates and features as they roll out.

    In the mean time, the fastest way to zoom out is to use the wheel on your mouse, if your mouse has one.
    Thank you for being a part of our trading community!

    Want to discuss how our resources can help you reach your trading goals? Add your post to join the conversation or feel free to contact us directly at help@fxcm.com!

    We look forward to hearing from you!

    FXCM Online Support

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Disclaimer: Trading foreign exchange on margin carries a high level of risk, and may not be suitable for all investors. The high degree of leverage can work against you as well as for you. Before deciding to trade foreign exchange you should carefully consider your investment objectives, level of experience, and risk appetite. The possibility exists that you could sustain a loss of some or all of your initial investment and therefore you should not invest money that you cannot afford to lose. You should be aware of all the risks associated with foreign exchange trading, and seek advice from an independent financial advisor if you have any doubts. Any opinions, news, research, analyses, prices, or other information contained on this website is provided as general market commentary and does not constitute investment advice. Forex Capital Markets LLC. will not accept liability for any loss or damage, including without limitation to, any loss of profit, which may arise directly or indirectly from use of or reliance on such information.