-->
Register


Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    silverfly is offline Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    20

    Web based Platform - Settings + Linux ?

    Hello,

    one question: Where does the Web Platform save the settings I make, I mean... where is the info being stored for arranging the windows, pairs... etc. ?

    Is it stored somewhere on the web-browser? Or is it transmitted into my TS II FXCM Micro Account and... let's say... saved there as "web platform info" ... waiting for a "call" when I log into the web-platform and then transfered to the browser?

    Is there any TS-web-platform info stored within the web-browser at all? e. g. in a cookie?

    I would really like to know that.

    Because if all the info is stored within my FXCM account, that would mean that I could use what ever computer/mobile phone I want, with any browser I want... and still having all my settings on a save place at FXCM.

    I have a Microsoft OS and opened a TS Micro Account but I think about switching my OS to LINUX in the future.

    As far as I know TS II Account can only be created/run with Windows OS - there is no LINUX version for TS II software.
    Well, luckily I have created my FXCM Account with MS OS... and thanks to the new Web-Platform I can also use this account now on LINUX in the future. It works very well on Linux - I tried that... runs fine in Chromium Browser.

    The FXCM web platform itself is a great thing !

    Will there be a desktop version for Linux? In the future maybe? - Linux users won't have to buy a MS computer first to use FXCM with Linux then! *laugh* Funny.

    Thanks for your help !
    Last edited by silverfly; 01-13-2013 at 10:19 PM.

  2. #2
    Julius at FXCM's Avatar
    Julius at FXCM is offline DailyFX Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,631
    Hello silverfly, and thank you for your post!


    Where are all the settings for the Trading Station Web saved?

    All of your settings (your platform set ups / chart set ups / spaces / indicators / trend lines etc.) are saved in the cookies and cache of the web browser you're using. So as long as you don't clear the history / cookies / cache of the web browser you're working with, you shouldn't lose any of your settings. At this time there isn't any way to transfer your settings from one web browser to another browser or computer. However this is a feature that will be added in the next update / revision of the Trading Station Web platform so it is something that will be available in the future.


    Are there any plans for creating a Trading Station Desktop platform for Linux?

    At this time there isn't anything in the works for a Trading Station Desktop platform for the Linux OS. However as you mentioned the Trading Station Web should work fine for both Mac and Linux Operating Systems. Although there isn't anything in the works for a Trading Station Desktop platform that's compatible with the Linux OS at this time, I have forwarded your feedback along to the appropriate department to see if that's something that could be considered in the future.

    Please let me know if you have any other questions. Thank you and have a great day!


    Thank you again for your post silverfly! Please feel free to post with additional questions or contact me directly at julius@fxcm.com

    Quote Originally Posted by silverfly View Post
    Hello,

    one question: Where does the Web Platform save the settings I make, I mean... where is the info being stored for arranging the windows, pairs... etc. ?

    Is it stored somewhere on the web-browser? Or is it transmitted into my TS II FXCM Micro Account and... let's say... saved there as "web platform info" ... waiting for a "call" when I log into the web-platform and then transfered to the browser?

    Is there any TS-web-platform info stored within the web-browser at all? e. g. in a cookie?

    I would really like to know that.

    Because if all the info is stored within my FXCM account, that would mean that I could use what ever computer/mobile phone I want, with any browser I want... and still having all my settings on a save place at FXCM.

    I have a Microsoft OS and opened a TS Micro Account but I think about switching my OS to LINUX in the future.

    As far as I know TS II Account can only be created/run with Windows OS - there is no LINUX version for TS II software.
    Well, luckily I have created my FXCM Account with MS OS... and thanks to the new Web-Platform I can also use this account now on LINUX in the future. It works very well on Linux - I tried that... runs fine in Chromium Browser.

    The FXCM web platform itself is a great thing !

    Will there be a desktop version for Linux? In the future maybe? - Linux users won't have to buy a MS computer first to use FXCM with Linux then! *laugh* Funny.

    Thanks for your help !
    Last edited by Julius at FXCM; 01-14-2013 at 07:36 PM.
    Thank you for being a part of our trading community!

    Want to discuss how our resources can help you reach your trading goals? Add your post to join the conversation or feel free to contact us directly at help@fxcm.com!

    We look forward to hearing from you!

    FXCM Online Support

  3. #3
    silverfly is offline Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    20
    Thank you very much for your answer -

    Wow - I did not expect all the info is saved within cookies - I really thought the info will be stored at FXMC servers or something. And yes... the problem really is, if unfortunately I lose the cookies, then everything is gone and I don't have a backup... e.g. on mobile phone. That's bad news! I really thought about customizing the web platform, all colors, windows etc. ...but now I think I will wait for the new "save-able" version... customizing with all indicators etc. is quite a lot of work... I don't want to lose that...

    It would be interesting if one could adapt the TS II settings to the web-platform in the future...
    I think the web platform also needs the Adobe-Flash-Player - right?

    There is a problem with all the mobile phones and their browsers... most of them have problems with "flash" ...so it would be best if the web platform could exist without flash or any other dependent "plugins"
    I was not able to install Adobe flash to my linux distribution... but then I read about chromium browser and its HTML 5 and integrated Flash Player... i tried that on my Linux und it worked fine!
    Well, i think it is always better to use platforms that doesn't use Flash or Java.

    Do you know Oanda Forex Broker? They also have a web platform... they use Javascript/Java and you can't get this thing to work on Iphone in a browser... because there is no Java/Javascript for Iphone in browsers!
    So FXCM is ahead... that was also one reason I switched to FXCM ...I used Oandas Iphone app... but I did not like it... it was quite a simple app... and not really what I like. FXCM is quite a grown-up platform... also TS II is very good. Well... I sold my Iphone an have Android now... but Android= also Linux!

    You see... Linux might be important in the future... Google is big and Google = mobile Linux systems!

    Well, if the web platform will support any hardware with any browser + registering at FXCM via any hardware... then we don't need a Linux desktop version of TS II - because TSII = Web-Platform then!

    I think a good Web-Platform is very important for Brokers in the future... one that can be switched between different operation systems... without Flash/Java support problems, and a Web-Platform that one can sign up to even without using a desktop PC first. Imagine if one could sign up at FXCM via Android phone... or Mac... in a browser.... no more (windows hardware dependent) TS II would be needed then... I think thats the future of FXCM ! YES! DEFENITELY !

  4. #4
    Julius at FXCM's Avatar
    Julius at FXCM is offline DailyFX Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,631
    Hello again silverfly, and thank you for your post! We appreciate your feedback and suggestions.


    Can Trading Station Web run without Java or Flash?

    The Trading Station Web must run with Flash in order for it to work properly. Java however is not necessary. We do have the Trading Station Mobile platform as a solution for accessing and managing your account with a mobile device. Please click here for more information about the Trading Station Mobile on the forum.


    Is there any way to create a Trading Station Web platform that has all of the features of the Trading Station Desktop?

    The Trading Station Desktop is a Windows based platform which requires many resource files that would not be accessible in a web browser environment. For that reason at this time it is not possible to create a Trading Station Web platform that can mirror the features of the Trading Station Desktop in it's entirety. We do hope that you find the Trading Station Web more robust than it already it is after we launch the new and improved version!


    Thank you again for your post silverfly! Please feel free to post with additional questions or contact me directly at julius@fxcm.com

    Quote Originally Posted by silverfly View Post
    Thank you very much for your answer -

    Wow - I did not expect all the info is saved within cookies - I really thought the info will be stored at FXMC servers or something. And yes... the problem really is, if unfortunately I lose the cookies, then everything is gone and I don't have a backup... e.g. on mobile phone. That's bad news! I really thought about customizing the web platform, all colors, windows etc. ...but now I think I will wait for the new "save-able" version... customizing with all indicators etc. is quite a lot of work... I don't want to lose that...

    It would be interesting if one could adapt the TS II settings to the web-platform in the future...
    I think the web platform also needs the Adobe-Flash-Player - right?

    There is a problem with all the mobile phones and their browsers... most of them have problems with "flash" ...so it would be best if the web platform could exist without flash or any other dependent "plugins"
    I was not able to install Adobe flash to my linux distribution... but then I read about chromium browser and its HTML 5 and integrated Flash Player... i tried that on my Linux und it worked fine!
    Well, i think it is always better to use platforms that doesn't use Flash or Java.

    Do you know Oanda Forex Broker? They also have a web platform... they use Javascript/Java and you can't get this thing to work on Iphone in a browser... because there is no Java/Javascript for Iphone in browsers!
    So FXCM is ahead... that was also one reason I switched to FXCM ...I used Oandas Iphone app... but I did not like it... it was quite a simple app... and not really what I like. FXCM is quite a grown-up platform... also TS II is very good. Well... I sold my Iphone an have Android now... but Android= also Linux!

    You see... Linux might be important in the future... Google is big and Google = mobile Linux systems!

    Well, if the web platform will support any hardware with any browser + registering at FXCM via any hardware... then we don't need a Linux desktop version of TS II - because TSII = Web-Platform then!

    I think a good Web-Platform is very important for Brokers in the future... one that can be switched between different operation systems... without Flash/Java support problems, and a Web-Platform that one can sign up to even without using a desktop PC first. Imagine if one could sign up at FXCM via Android phone... or Mac... in a browser.... no more (windows hardware dependent) TS II would be needed then... I think thats the future of FXCM ! YES! DEFENITELY !
    Last edited by Julius at FXCM; 01-17-2013 at 04:49 PM.
    Thank you for being a part of our trading community!

    Want to discuss how our resources can help you reach your trading goals? Add your post to join the conversation or feel free to contact us directly at help@fxcm.com!

    We look forward to hearing from you!

    FXCM Online Support

  5. #5
    fractal is offline Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    18

    Cool

    I'm sorry for opening again this topic, but I have an interesting experience about linux which may be pleasant for some traders ...

    In fact, that's right : there's no desktop trading platform specially made for any linux operating system.
    That's right but also wrong, just because linux knows how to use windows applications (I mean .exe).

    For this, there are two applications which can be used : wine (free) or crossover.

    And both are working in a perfect way so as to let you using your trading application.

    I use the desktop application and only have linux installed, so I can ensure that it works perfectly. There's just one problem : before being able to log in and to use the platform on linux, you should disable the skins, otherwise it won't work.

    Better than words, here's a screenshot :

    Name:  no skin.jpeg
Views: 968
Size:  48.8 KB

    If you decide to use crossover, you will notice that the fxcm platform has already been taken into account buy this company. Even if the following picture is in french, you may understand what tyou're looking for ... Lucky broker

    Name:  no skin1.jpeg
Views: 964
Size:  123.2 KB

    All the best is possible as you requested

    Best regards



    Quote Originally Posted by Julius at FXCM View Post
    Hello again silverfly, and thank you for your post! We appreciate your feedback and suggestions.


    Can Trading Station Web run without Java or Flash?

    The Trading Station Web must run with Flash in order for it to work properly. Java however is not necessary. We do have the Trading Station Mobile platform as a solution for accessing and managing your account with a mobile device. Please click here for more information about the Trading Station Mobile on the forum.



    Is there any way to create a Trading Station Web platform that has all of the features of the Trading Station Desktop?

    The Trading Station Desktop is a Windows based platform which requires many resource files that would not be accessible in a web browser environment. For that reason at this time it is not possible to create a Trading Station Web platform that can mirror the features of the Trading Station Desktop in it's entirety. We do hope that you find the Trading Station Web more robust than it already it is after we launch the new and improved version!


    Thank you again for your post silverfly! Please feel free to post with additional questions or contact me directly at julius@fxcm.com

  6. #6
    fractal is offline Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    18
    Mmm... don't know why, but I think that my answer could help fxcm to get a new trader ...

  7. #7
    silverfly is offline Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    20
    hi fractal -

    yes, wine might be a good idea !
    I am quite new to linux and I am working with Tiny Core Linux... I love it somehow... even if its quite complex for beginners. I use it in a VM within winOS at the moment, it boots up in like 13 seconds on an non SSD - SSD should be under 10 sec. - thats what i really like!

    I thought about wine and TS II, I have installed wine already but did not have time to test anything within wine, yet. I thought about writing something about wine here, but you have been faster!

    Maybe the issue with the skin is, because there might be a missing link from wine to the skin-library... wine might get confused then.

    I found a very good documentary about linux on YT - freaks translated it into differen languages... i saw the german version, but here is the same docu translated:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvlL0JpiqqQ
    maybe there is a french version too on YT.
    love that docu... especially the sound at 25:30 ...also available on YT - "southbound vertigo broadway" great.

    I have seen that i made some missspellings in my first post - but I CAN'T EDIT that ... I am not allowed to... the forum software says so! how can editing be "enabled"?
    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Julius at FXCM's Avatar
    Julius at FXCM is offline DailyFX Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,631
    Hello silverfly, fractal, and thank you for your posts!


    Can I run the Trading Station Desktop on a Linux OS with Wine or CrossOver?

    Thank you for sharing this with our forum community. Yes you can use Wine and CrossOver to run Windows applications without a copy of Microsoft Windows. These programs enable Linux and Mac users to run the Trading Station Desktop on their computers.


    Why can't I edit my posts?

    silverfly you should be able to edit your own posts by clicking on "Edit Post" on the bottom of your post.
    If the system won't allow you to do it please try again with another web browser. If you're still not able to edit your post please let me know the exact error message you receive when you try to edit your post.


    Thank you again for your posts fractal and silverfly! Please feel free to post with additional questions or contact me directly at julius@fxcm.com

    Quote Originally Posted by fractal View Post
    I'm sorry for opening again this topic, but I have an interesting experience about linux which may be pleasant for some traders ...

    In fact, that's right : there's no desktop trading platform specially made for any linux operating system.
    That's right but also wrong, just because linux knows how to use windows applications (I mean .exe).

    For this, there are two applications which can be used : wine (free) or crossover.

    And both are working in a perfect way so as to let you using your trading application.

    I use the desktop application and only have linux installed, so I can ensure that it works perfectly. There's just one problem : before being able to log in and to use the platform on linux, you should disable the skins, otherwise it won't work.

    Better than words, here's a screenshot :

    Name:  no skin.jpeg
Views: 968
Size:  48.8 KB

    If you decide to use crossover, you will notice that the fxcm platform has already been taken into account buy this company. Even if the following picture is in french, you may understand what tyou're looking for ... Lucky broker

    Name:  no skin1.jpeg
Views: 964
Size:  123.2 KB

    All the best is possible as you requested

    Best regards
    Quote Originally Posted by fractal View Post
    Mmm... don't know why, but I think that my answer could help fxcm to get a new trader ...
    Quote Originally Posted by silverfly View Post
    hi fractal -

    yes, wine might be a good idea !
    I am quite new to linux and I am working with Tiny Core Linux... I love it somehow... even if its quite complex for beginners. I use it in a VM within winOS at the moment, it boots up in like 13 seconds on an non SSD - SSD should be under 10 sec. - thats what i really like!

    I thought about wine and TS II, I have installed wine already but did not have time to test anything within wine, yet. I thought about writing something about wine here, but you have been faster!

    Maybe the issue with the skin is, because there might be a missing link from wine to the skin-library... wine might get confused then.

    I found a very good documentary about linux on YT - freaks translated it into differen languages... i saw the german version, but here is the same docu translated:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvlL0JpiqqQ
    maybe there is a french version too on YT.
    love that docu... especially the sound at 25:30 ...also available on YT - "southbound vertigo broadway" great.

    I have seen that i made some missspellings in my first post - but I CAN'T EDIT that ... I am not allowed to... the forum software says so! how can editing be "enabled"?
    Thanks.
    Last edited by Julius at FXCM; 01-28-2013 at 05:51 PM.
    Thank you for being a part of our trading community!

    Want to discuss how our resources can help you reach your trading goals? Add your post to join the conversation or feel free to contact us directly at help@fxcm.com!

    We look forward to hearing from you!

    FXCM Online Support

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Disclaimer: Trading foreign exchange on margin carries a high level of risk, and may not be suitable for all investors. The high degree of leverage can work against you as well as for you. Before deciding to trade foreign exchange you should carefully consider your investment objectives, level of experience, and risk appetite. The possibility exists that you could sustain a loss of some or all of your initial investment and therefore you should not invest money that you cannot afford to lose. You should be aware of all the risks associated with foreign exchange trading, and seek advice from an independent financial advisor if you have any doubts. Any opinions, news, research, analyses, prices, or other information contained on this website is provided as general market commentary and does not constitute investment advice. Forex Capital Markets LLC. will not accept liability for any loss or damage, including without limitation to, any loss of profit, which may arise directly or indirectly from use of or reliance on such information.